it's 8:17 p.m., on 2001-06-29 - catastrophe.

~

I already said so in my livejournal thingy but here's another quick announcement.

My harddrive's dead. Fried. Gone boom. In a big way.

You know the clicky sound that hard drives make when they're about to die?

It's much, much worse when they stop making it.

It's funny, too-- the mp3 started to skip right before it happened. REM's 'I'm not over you'. I don't know whether it's a sign of karma or that the universe is perverse and laughing at me.

At any rate. I've lost a lot of shit. The latest website update-- which is a massive, massive blow to the Anya archive. I'm almost back to square one. I know I had permission to archive 'Human flaws' and 'human' and all of Ins's stuff, and 'I need to know'... but I've lost so many other things that I'm not sure about. Fuck, I'm going to die for that. The IBAs, thank christ, didn't have that much work done. Everything else-- I lost the spirit animal page from 'spilled milk', and a few things from 'felicitas!', nothing major.... thank god, I uploaded the 'writers' website even if I didn't link it. Not too much there.

The real blow is my email. No more can I reread emails from river and laugh, no more can I look at feedback and go, hey, I'm not a bad writer after all. Have to start anew.

Christ.

I've lost the last of the girl of my dreams I had, too. All my back ICQ logs-- I'd been saving those for years and years and years. My IRC logs, gone. I had irc logs with Anna in them, for fuck's sake.

Hm. I should look on this as an opportunity, not a loss.

I've always said, I abhor being a pack rat.

The email's a bitch; the website is a pain, especially since I don't currently have a copy of Adobe Photoshop. I'll have to re-crack Dreamweaver; maybe I'll get four.

I hope I can remember all my passwords.

It's the email that's going to be impossible to replace, and the Anya website. Everything else... if I didn't have it saved, I didn't need it in the first place.

I guess.

Anna, Sue, Paris... god, Annalize, even, y'all are gone from my life.

Shit, man.

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

what would sith be nostalgic about anyway - November 24, 2015
moving truck dilemma - October 28, 2015
- - July 19, 2015
- - July 01, 2015
bruise - June 29, 2015

-