it's 5:41 pm, on September 13, 2001 - being, not doing.

~

This morning, I woke up afraid to go back to sleep. No, not because of nightmares, and not because of anything bad. See, what I'm going to tell you is a source of deep shame and self-loathing, and I hope you all understand my psychosis.

I had a dream -- three dreams -- where Justin Timberlake was an important element. A very important element, once or twice.

Y'all can go here if you want to see my descriptions of these things -- I don't want to talk about it. ;)

Now, a kitchen epiphany for the day: why n-slash might be interesting, and thoughts about writing style in general.

See, I think I've figured out why n-sync fic is actually good (sometimes). The difference between it, and a lot of other fic, is that writers for that genre tend not to focus on events. They don't care what each character is doing; it's a means of exploring what the character is being.

That's what I really want to talk about today: the difference between writing someone doing, and writing someone being.

I think, I prefer the second one. Not that events and plot aren't important and necessary for this process, but, if they become simply a vehicle to show what the character is being, not doing, they become more interesting, overall.

--Rethinking this whole theory, I don't know as it's very original. Perhaps all stories inherently take on this quality, I don't know. But I'm going to try and do it more often.

~*~

I actually had a lot more to say, but I'm not going to say it, because I've forgotten. Most of it was swearing at Justin Timberlake anyway.

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

what would sith be nostalgic about anyway - November 24, 2015
moving truck dilemma - October 28, 2015
- - July 19, 2015
- - July 01, 2015
bruise - June 29, 2015

-