it's 2:32 am, on September 08, 2002 - things I've learned.

~

A lot of entries of mine have been uninteresting lately. Therefore, I'm going to make a list of things I've learned over the last few days.

The first, and possibly most important, are a few essential grammar rules, thanks to the Handbook for Writers, Third Canadian Edition. Sixty bucks for a class I failed miserably because I hated the teacher, but now I'm finally using the book.

-- 'A while' may always be substituted for 'awhile', but only 'a while' is correct after the preposition 'for' or with 'ago'.
--the difference between "lie" and "lay": 'Lay' is transitive, and takes an object; 'lie' is intransitive and does not. The book had the examples: "I lie here every day. Yesterday I lay here" and "I lay my books on my desk. Yesterday I laid my books on the desk."

Life seems less frantic when you know which version of "lay" to use.

Secondly, last night I had a coeur a coeur with Dex, in which we came up with this: alike. Very much alike. And people do not expose themselves. He's found himself a nice slot within the spokes of my wheel. knew he was a constellation. He actually asked if I would join his tribe, and, wow. Y'all know what that's like. There's a revolution comin', baby. Update on the tribe: Dex is so very much a part of it.

Thirdly: the greek alphabet goes: alpha, beta, gamma, delta, zeta, ... theta, eta, iota, ... mu, nu, xi, and omicron. Except in there is omega and a bunch of others. --actually, half of the Greek alphabet goes like that. with some other stuff. Also: Gilgamesh met a hairy, wild man named Enkidu; they fought, then they made up, then they went off and fought monsters together. When Enkidu died, Gilgamesh was so upset he looked for the secret of immortality.

Unrelated, Chris Keller went back to Oz. He went to protective custody, and asked to see Beecher. They both would like some time together. Enkidu was previously untouched by women, however, until the whore seduces him. Beecher kissed the weasely lawyer lady. Secret of immortality: related? You make the call.

Fourthly, while doing Kate Bolin's beta for Lem Lwa, I learned of this Creole proverb: "Di moin qui vous laimein, ma di vous qui vous ye" : Tell me whom you love, and I'll tell you who you are.

Chasez is apparently a creole name.

Finally, we ordered in tonight. My fortune cookie read: The art of keeping secrets will be your ke to success. Which is nice, in theory. if I could do that.

Then I opened one in honor of Justin, because I wanted to eat a second one, and it said: your originality will be rewarded. Which is good news, because I want to be able to think about him at thirty, still looking out at crowds, and saying thank you. And then in nine years, I want to be able to watch him do it.

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

what would sith be nostalgic about anyway - November 24, 2015
moving truck dilemma - October 28, 2015
- - July 19, 2015
- - July 01, 2015
bruise - June 29, 2015

-