it's 10:47 pm, on November 17, 2016 - i want to say it was about kurt cobain, since he was from seattle.

~

wrote most of this out a few days ago in gmail, after seeing said article on twitter, and then halted, pulled up short, before pressing "send". who would I send it to? who would I dump this sensation on, when--

no one who hadn't read twenty years of bobby burgess would ever understand.

-

just seen on twitter: a link to bloomberg with the headline "China tells Trump climate change isn't a hoax it invented" with the comment "the world we live in".

dunno if anyone here was online early enough to remember this website-- I think it was 1992 or 1993 when I first stumbled onto this website by this dude from tech-valley -- which at the time was fucking seattle, this is how long ago I'm talking. his name was 'poon' and the domain was 'suicide.org' and he was very... cynical. it was a personal hipster like blog, in the bad old days of the internet before something like suicide.org would have been associated with an actual helpdesk. y'know?

so he had these long screeds against the futility of Seattle (oh, pacific northwest, never change), and coffee, and how much his job sucked, etc. and so his thing was the cult of suicide -- which, according to my sieve-like unreliable memory, wasn't actually his invention, it was a real thing, an anarcho-philosophy that (if I had to guess) came out of 2nd wave grunge, because I'm a cynic like that. because their motto, so his site said, was, "save the world, kill yourself".

and every single fucking time I open twitter, or read the news, or see commentary, or-- anything, these days? I remember that website, and picture some poor white dude in old silicon valley before it was in California, a hipster who wanted to be more important.

and I picture that guy, seeing 2016, where we are RIGHT NOW... and putting his face in his hands in despair.

-

i had to check, but bobbyburgess.net is gone. the real suicide.org is gone, and no one, I'd bet, even remembers them anymore. it feels like an omen.

one bright light: nerve.com still exists; I was in grade nine when I first read about Tom's toothpaste, commenting with a Prodigy or letter-number compuserve email account.

maybe all the rest of the internet circa 1994 is gone, but something remains.

-

except: checking on archive.org at least a few of the original suicide.org pages are still up. poon, whereever you are, you still exist.

oh man, that domain was why I read 2600.com in high school.

this is the equivalent of refusing to listen to that newfangled music, isn't it?

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

- - May 05, 2017
- - December 24, 2016
- - December 13, 2016
- - December 13, 2016
- - November 27, 2016

-