it's 5:28 am, on January 03, 2002 - the movies.

~

I went to the movies, figuratively, today.

River asked me to update more frequently, and so I will. Try, that is. Anyway. Today I watched a lot of movies. Actually, I bought a lot of movies and watched a couple.

First, watched ... I can't even remember off-hand. It was swept away by the tide of the Siege. Right. Watched "Seven Years In Tibet", which is just another DVD to add to my Brad Pitt Fanclub Library. It amazed me to find out that it wasn't, as I first thought, filmed in northern India but actually in Argentina and, get this, Vancouver. I guess Argentina didn't have enough snow-caps to be the upper Himalayas. The movie is very well done, and very sad, and tells a lot about how you can misinterpret just about everything around you your whole life.

Plus it's Brad Pitt, and he tends to do really good movies. And after all of that, it's *also* about Western uncomprehension about Asia, which I tend to like explored well. Because I get it.

So we go from that historical film, a tragedy, a triumph of spirituality over politics versus a triumph over grown-ups versus running away and staying young, to the Siege.

I'm sure that I've recommended the Siege before. If I didn't, shame, shame, shame on me. This was made, what, '99? '98? Something like that. It's about terrorist attacks. By palestinians. In Brooklyn.

We all know that I'm not American.

What I really like about the Siege, more than any other film about terrorism, war, or the Middle East is, to my eyes, it explores terrorism from the terrorist's point of view. It shows the conflict, some of the complexities of it, and some of the meaning, and it does so without showing the American flag more than once. It's Denzel Washington, Bruce Willis (who was right for the role, even if he sucks) and Annette Benning, and it's all about divided loyalties. Think anything is simple and black and white? I urge you watch this. --I hope I'm not the only one that gets that from that movie.

It was even more creepy to watch after what happened. Should that be "What Happened"? Does that event rate a capitalization forever in the history books?

Anyway. I wasn't going to get preachy about that. It's a good thing I watched The Muppet Movie after that, instead of Fight Club, or you'd be getting a sermon.

So, the Muppet Movie. My sister made fun of me for singing the songs, my mum fell asleep halfway through, and I totally dug the cheeze, the musical aspects, the over-the-top acting, the cameos by famous people, and the simple fun of it all. It was a three-sixty turnaround from tanks and machines guns in New york and Tibet, destroying mosques and temples.

It's been an odd movie night.

So I'm sitting here, going through the journals I check, the lives I spy upon, and I find out that Jason and Brian are getting married. Which I'm ecstatic for, if it's what they want. I'd love to be at the ceremony. I'd love to dance at the ceremony. Except I can't dance, and who knows where they'll hold it.

Still, all the marriage in the air is sweet. Despite my bitter nature, and cynical appeal, and want to, in the end, be independent to a fault, I like weddings a lot. Any excuse for a party.

~*~

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

what would sith be nostalgic about anyway - November 24, 2015
moving truck dilemma - October 28, 2015
- - July 19, 2015
- - July 01, 2015
bruise - June 29, 2015

-