it's 4:23 am, on August 26, 2002 - justin, head-on.

~

There's this thing that I'm considering, called the Three Day Novel contest.

Apparently Vancouver isn't crazy enough-- now people are writing whole novels over labor day weekend. And that would be an amazing accomplishment, and fun, and I really want to do it.

The winning novel gets published by Anvil Press. All the writing has to take place between midnight on the night of August 30th, and midnight the night of September 2nd. Seventy two hours to write one hundred pages.

There's just one problem, of course: my co-writer isn't here.

*

So, I just reread a lot of nameless things tonight. And by god, were there some lines I loved in that series. "There are, things, you do for only one reason." Lots of lines I can't get over, actually. Apparently, I used to have style. where it went, no one knows.

See, I have never liked third person narrative writing. Can't do it. First person is familiar, my favorite kind of writing. And I've never done a first person fic in the n-fandom, save "swallow" which sucks insane ass. A few in second person, most in third and third with a narrative slant based on whatever character is the focus. Never first.

And Sandy loves a tight third person narrative, not first. And she loves her lambs. Ideally, these two things should combine, along with the song lyrics "miss you like sleep" and "thank you for loving me at my worst". And maybe the Pablo Neruda poem that goes "I live, a bedeviled man, disposed like any other to cherish my human affinities; whoever you are, I love you". Of course, they're not combining, and I have three lines that I want to keep out of five whole stories, but in theory.

Words, words, words. There was a time when I could mold words, as a potter made cups of clay.

Time and place campaign, clay. Made of clay.

That's no Sandy fic, however, because it would have to be Justin and Chris, it would have to. Justin with his cross tattoo, to tell the world that "I was almighty. But I'm not." And Chris singing nursery rhymes.

The problem, maybe, is that I want to find the definitive lambs story that's broiling under Justin's skin, and can't. see, I will never write another Joey/Lance story. I've done Jola and as far as I'm concerned, it's complete. Anything else, unless it has "wackiness ensues" in the summary, would be redundant. Same with Britney and Justin. And, I won't ever write another definitive Lance story, because "dancing days" says a lot of what I want to. Most of it. And Chris has already been defined.

Justin, the bastard, is much slipperier. I have to approach him from the side, not head-on, and even when someone else is observing him, he's impossible to pin down. All that Aquarius in him. I'm more likely to finish that JC/Chris with Mel than write Sandy a Justin story for her birthday.

Maybe him and Bobby should meet. Someone might understand something, then. Though I doubt it would be me.

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

what would sith be nostalgic about anyway - November 24, 2015
moving truck dilemma - October 28, 2015
- - July 19, 2015
- - July 01, 2015
bruise - June 29, 2015

-