it's 2:59 am, on September 23, 2002 - the glamour life.

~

Haven't written anything in this journal for a while, but this is simply because there hasn't been anything noteworthy going on. like, I could say, "the other day I learned why Kate's joke 'unless you're talking about an ancient Sumerian city you shouldn't really be saying ziggURat' is actually funny" but no one, save possibly Kate and anyone who actually knows where Ur is, would care.

And I could say, you know, life is going well aside from SRI that are threatening to spill into other things, and Mel says I have a fixation on doomed love. but hey, Magnolia. Also, how do you go up to someone you don't really know and say, "look, I know we're not even that interested in each other, aside from a mutual respect and liking the same girls. but could we sleep together now?" because really, it's not done.

and I could say, magnolia, still, but that's okay, or I could say, crush on Kel because the quickest way to my heart is through my burning hatred of people, or. but, see, as Will so eloquently pointed out, it's boring.

Instead, I'm going to make up an entry. This, then, is how my day would have gone.

Today, I would have had to fly back home from Tennessee, and in the airport, I would have talked to a lady. 'oh, I'm a manager,' she would have said. 'For a country, jazzy singer. she's getting signed in new york city next week.'

'ahh,' I would say. 'that sounds terribly interesting. Do you travel a lot?'

'Too much,' she would tell me. 'It's so tiring.'

'I haven't gotten bored of it yet,' I would tell her. 'I work for Duty Free, and I still love it.'

'That's fascinating -- here's my card. we'll mingle next time you're down here,' and she'd give me her card, and I would be Making Contacts like every good shmoozer should.

Next, I would get on the plane and fly home, where my cab would have to stop in the middle of Granville for some filming. I would lean out the window and ask what's going on, and someone would tell me. someone else, of course, would recognise me and wave me through, all the while getting my phone number so that we could hook up. Back at my apartment I'd have plenty of messages, and it would only be an hour for a quick change before I'd head back out for drinks with more producers and such. My life would be glamorous and terribly exciting every day.

While out for drinks, someone would proposition me, Will would text me and tell me that he'd sold another house and would I like to go out to bowen island with him and aaron for the weekend? I'd have to say yes, of course, and while going there, we'd pick up some hitchhiker who'd end up being the cousin of some distant relative of brad pitt, who just so happened to be in the movie that was filming on Granville. Will and I would turn around, back to the city, where said cousin would call brad pitt up, and we'd get invited to *that* party, where him, Jennifer Aniston, and possibly my ex-latin prof would all be hobnobbing downtown.

Around five in the morning, I'd have to bow out because I had a lunch date the next day with someone *else*, who'd put me in touch with Brad's manager so that I could stop working for the Duty free so much and actually write screenplays instead.

Yes, okay, maybe not, but it makes for a more interesting entry than "today I ebay'ed."

*

the thing with the manager gal in the airport kind of happened. like. I was there and she was there, but we did not talk; I didn't Make Contacts. Anyway. Now that you've all read the glamourous fake entry, there's no need to read the nonfake, quiet and dull thoughts in my head.

first, there's this CD I'm trying to make for people. tribe-like people. people I love. I want it to have a picture of a magnolia on the cover, and the quote "I really do have love to give, I just don't know where to *put* it." The track listing goes:

"caravan", the counting crows
"this is the day", the the
"evaporated", ben folds five
"wise up", aimee mann
"dreams can come true", gabrielle
"I know", fiona apple
"wish you were here", radiohead
"anna begins", counting crows
"the shining", badly drawn boy
"sing it again", beck
"I got it bad and that ain't good", jane monheit
"oil and water", majandra delfino
"sleepwalking", ben lee
"heavy heart", you am i
and
"thank you", the whitlams.

for some, the choices won't be anything of a surprise. I mean, "caravan" is obvious, but a lot of the rest aren't. --I was going to explain why, here, but you know? if people don't know then they don't.

romantic line for today: "I'll pack you a lunch."

also, I cannot stop listening to "dreams can come true" by gabrielle. it hurts, deep down. mostly related: al never had braces.

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

what would sith be nostalgic about anyway - November 24, 2015
moving truck dilemma - October 28, 2015
- - July 19, 2015
- - July 01, 2015
bruise - June 29, 2015

-