it's 7:56 pm, on May 06, 2005 - anger.

~

I am so angry with my sister. to make a long story short, I can't seem to explain to her that going to university simply to go is a bad decision. it's a bad decision to go to school unless you're going to come out of the other end with something that can give you a career, it's a bad decision to waste four years of your life on an art history or biochemistry degree to work at starbucks, and it's an even worse idea to go to university on student loans if that's what you're going to get out of it.

I don't know anymore why you'd invest your time and money in school if it's not useful. yes, learning is interesting, but it's about $40,000 for a four year degree, and unless you're going to law school or medical school at the end of it, why waste the money?

I'm just. argh. I see her making the same mistake I did, which was plan to go to school simply to get out on her own, live in res, take classes and think about the future later - and she's going to take out student loans, and waste her money, and end up SHACKLED to a debt that she'll resent, and my mother is doing nothing to discourage it. Yes, go to school if that's what you want, but do NOT borrow money to do it. that's the worst thing imaginable.

I'm just so angry. She feels entitled to a good career after she graduates, and that's just not how the world works, and my mother isn't helping drive this point into her head.

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

what would sith be nostalgic about anyway - November 24, 2015
moving truck dilemma - October 28, 2015
- - July 19, 2015
- - July 01, 2015
bruise - June 29, 2015

-