it's 8:49 pm, on February 26, 2006 - snappy dancing.

~

I just watched two semi-romantic-comedies in rapid succession; one even calling itself the Bollywood Pride and Prejudice. The other was, of course, Bend It Like Beckham, a movie about overcoming adversity to play sports, and of course one I had to check the spelling of as I'm not a football fan.

Notice how I called it football there?

Bride and Prejudice is written and produced by the same lady that did Bend It Like Beckham, and it's a modernization of Pride and Prejudice in present-day India. It has definite Bollywood leanings, up to and including large scale dance numbers and choral interludes, however unlike Bollywood all the songs were in English. I had to admit, I questioned this decision even as I was drawn into the bright colours, pretty faces, and snappy dancing.

Bend It Like Beckham might not have any genuine musical numbers, but it sure has a lot of dance scenes that I hadn't remembered.

Anyway, to make a long story even longer, I have come to the conclusion that I genuinely enjoy musicals, Bollywood films, and cheesy love stories, even if they're sung in English. This comes as rather a shock, as I thought I actually had taste when it came to cinema. Apparently, though, I was wrong - and all those of you who said a fondness for certain Pauly Shore movies was indicative of something? were right.

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

what would sith be nostalgic about anyway - November 24, 2015
moving truck dilemma - October 28, 2015
- - July 19, 2015
- - July 01, 2015
bruise - June 29, 2015

-