it's 12:44 am, on May 08, 2003 - book quotes.

~

found this random file on my harddrive with a bunch of book quotes that I obviously wanted to save up. So.

Books that Lise Loves.

~

"The Anatomy Lesson", John David Morley, pg 1:

I've been frozen solid against the wall in Mazzo's, staring at my index finger for a couple of hours, when my dead brother Morton shows up. He does that literally. I mean, I look down on one side and see him coming up through the floor. Nothing special about that. People have been showing up through the floor all evening. They pop up and mushroom in bursts, clumps of people that explode and disappear. In the Mazzo theme park it's another of those acid nights.

"Cat's Cradle", Kurt Vonnegut, pg 114:

"One of the oldest games there is, cat's cradle. Even the Eskimos know it."

"You don't say."

"For maybe a hundred thousand years or more, grown-ups have been waving tangles of string in their children's faces."

"Um."

Newt remained curled in the chair. He held out his painty hands as though a cat's cradle were strung between them. "No wonder kids grow up crazy. A cat's cradle is nothing but a bunch of X's between somebody's hands, and little kids look and look at all those X's..."

"And?"

"No damn cat, and no damn cradle."

"Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas", Hunter S. Thompson, pg 1:

We were somewhere around Barstow on the edge of the desert when the drugs began to take hold. I remember saying something like "I feel a bit lightheaded; maybe you should drive. . ." And suddenly there was a terrible roar all around us and the sky was full of what looked like huge bats, all swooping and screeching and diving around the car, which was going about a hundred miles an hour with the top down to Las Vegas.

"From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankenweiler", E. L. Konigsburg, pg 1:

Claudia knew that she could never pull off the old-fashioned kind of running away. That is, running away in the heat of anger with a knapsack on her pack. She didn't like discomfort; even picnics were untidy and inconvenient: all those insects and the sun melting the icing on the cupcakes. Therefore, she decided that her leaving home would not be just running from somewhere but would be running to somewhere.

"Come as you are", Timothy Findley, in "dust to dust", pg 127:

Col said: "I don't have burn marks for nothing, my dear. I don't have these scars by chance. I'm covered with your fingerprints. Covered from head to toe and back again on the other side."

"You sound just like Minna," said Bragg.

"I know," Col said. "I know I do. I've been practising."

"Zurich", Kim Stanley Robinson, in "Down and Out in the Year 2000", pg 351:

The beautiful statue of Ganymede and the eagle looked like they had been molded out of white ceramic, and in Ganymede's outstretched arms it seemed to me a whole world was being embraced, a rushing world of gray sky and gray water where everything passed by so fast that you cnever got the chance to hold it, to touch it, to make it yours. Can't we keep anything?

"Hunting Humans", Elliot Leyton, pg 294.

Thus we find the source of our new multiple murderer primarily among the ambitious who failed - or who believed they would fail - and who seek another form of success in the universal celebrity and attention they will receive through their extravagant homicides.

"Fight Club", Chuck Palahniuk, pg 1.

Tyler gets me a job as a waiter, after that Tyler's pushing a gun in my mouth and saying, the first step to eternal life is you have to die. For a long time though, Tyler and I were best friends. People are always asking, did I know Tyler Durden.

J. K. Rowlings, "Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire", pg 1.

The villagers of Little Hangleton still called it "the Riddle House," even though it had been many years since the Riddle family had lived there.

Don DeLillo, "Great Jones Street", pg. 1:

Fame requires every kind of excess.

Diane Williams, the Stupefaction, pg 176:

To learn more about them, people should use you.

~

The current mood of lisewilliams@geocities.com at www.imood.com

-

what would sith be nostalgic about anyway - November 24, 2015
moving truck dilemma - October 28, 2015
- - July 19, 2015
- - July 01, 2015
bruise - June 29, 2015

-